Even after all this time, The sun never says to the earth, “You owe me.”

1) What do I care about?

This is a difficult question to answer candidly.  It’s difficult because the first answer that comes to mind is something along the lines of “I don’t really care about anything.”  But when I say that, I mean it in mostly a political sense. Once, in high school, two girls wrote poems to a bunch of other classmates. Each poem included something mean/critical about the recipient, and what was wrong with her.  (That she was mean, or dumb, or a backstabber).  But when it came to me-my “insult” was that I never chose a side.  I’ve never really seen that as a fault, though.  To me, everything is undefined and arguable.  So when it comes to politics or caring about some thing or some cause, I find it difficult to take a stand for anything.  The popular and overused quote-you know it-”If you don’t stand for something, you will fall for anything” is an awful saying.  (See, this is where I begin to care…about not caring).  But if you don’t stand for something, then you are sitting, and that’s as peaceful of a protest as you can get.

I will tell you what I really care about, and you will think horribly of me.  I care about my guinea pig, imac, ipad, nails, how i look, how i feel, depression, anxiety, hail in wainanalo, sexuality, human impulses, why people don’t smile back, why people always seem so bored, why so many people aren’t nice, driving with your headlights on, strangers, speling you’re correctly and other grammar atrocities, alaska, languages, money, scholarships, my feet, my comfortable bed, cleaning my closet. I think what bothers me most is how we can be surrounded by people, but no one really talks to each other.

2) Do I want social change?

I think social change is huge and it still hasn’t happened in the scale that it needs to.  i know that my list of what i care about might have the reader thinking that i am a shallow and superficial being, and in a lot of ways, I really am.  i think that there is so much hate in this world.  all of the world’s problems stem from hate or fear.  if you hate, you judge, so get rid of it.  people need to learn to stop hating everything. there are so many names for hate: racism, homophobia, murder, pollution, and the list is one everybody knows.  of course i want social change.  it’s up to every individual to just be…nicer.

3) How can I start or prevent it?

Acceptance and non-judging of other people is a good start.  Speaking up and defending helpless victims of violence is a start.  You know the law of attraction by now, who doesn’t?  whatever a person focuses on will become their life. my own attempt to draw people’s attention towards the positive is my twitter account:  wisdomquotes.  I try to add inspirational quotes all the time ..and if you have any, feel free to send them to me

This book is also amazing…on how to enact social change

4) Are these people smarter than me?

Yes. I think that so many people are smarter than i am.  i am not highly skilled in reading comprehension.  i make a lot of mistakes.  i don’t go out a lot.  but there is that theory about multiple types of intelligence.  So those people in the documentary are probably a lot smarter than me at what they are doing, and that is fine with me.

5) How are these people different from me?

Those people are focused and highly motivated.  They also seem a lot more confident than I am.

Two of my own questions:

6)  What is your favorite quote? If you don’t have one, here is a good place to start: wisdomquotes.com

7) If you could have everyone instantly realize just one thing, what would it be?

5 Comments

  1. March 11, 2012 at 1:22 am

    6) What is your favorite quote?
    “Learn from the past, set vivid, detailed goals for the future, and live in the only moment of time over which you have any control: now.”
    – Denis Waitley

    7) If you could have everyone instantly realize just one thing, what would it be?
    That life is too short to be mean, hateful, greedy. Live the life you’ve always dreamed of, not the dreams of others. Be happy and be happy for others.

  2. March 11, 2012 at 1:30 am

    I agree with your comment and loved the quote!

  3. revcrazynate said,

    March 13, 2012 at 6:03 am

    6. “If there’s no great glorious end to all this, if nothing we do matters… , then all that matters is what we do. ‘Cause that’s all there is. What we do. Now…..Because, if there’s no bigger meaning, then the smallest act of kindness is the greatest thing in the world. “

    -Angel
    current favorite

    7. Their fragile place in a system bent towards ending

  4. March 13, 2012 at 9:33 am

    6) What is your favorite quote? If you don’t have one, here is a good place to start: wisdomquotes.com

    Recently I heard a quote “yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the “present.”” I have really grown to like and believe this quote and I think it is now one of my favorite. However, I don’t know who said it. I also used to like the quote “dripping water will eat through a stone”

    7) If you could have everyone instantly realize just one thing, what would it be?
    I think I would have everyone realize that life is too short and not to take each day for granted.

  5. Paige said,

    March 14, 2012 at 8:47 am

    6) The best quote ever is undoubtedly:

    I love all waste
    And solitary places; where we taste
    The pleasure of believing what we see
    Is boundless, as we wish our souls to be.
    - Percy Bysshe Shelley, “Julian and Maddalo”

    Not his best poem but certainly some of the best lines he ever wrote.

    7) I would want everyone to realize that knowledge is power, literally. To be able to critically think about things we take for granted or even dismiss as garbage would reveal a great deal about how we as a society/individuals think and operate.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

